The Collaboration

More than 50 producers and distributors of natural gas are joining together to advance a common vision of enhancing our national energy security by promoting the development of natural gas vehicles and infrastructure throughout North America.

The collaborative's aim is to formalize the shared commitment of natural gas producers and utility companies to advancing the development and utilization of natural gas vehicles and fueling infrastructure in the North American marketplace.

Our joint activities will focus on infrastructure development, vehicle production, marketing and education for clean transportation solutions, and targeted advocacy. Our aim is to work in a cooperative and complementary fashion with other stakeholders who share our commitment to promoting natural gas vehicles and clean, American transportation solutions.

Dr. Kathryn Clay, Executive Director

Previously, Dr. Clay was the Vice President of Research and Technology Policy for the Collaboration of Automobile Manufacturers. She served as a member of the professional staff of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, where she worked to develop the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 and the Energy Policy Act of 2005. She was also centrally involved in the development and passage of legislation (the America COMPETES Act of 2007) to promote federal investment in science and the development of innovative technologies.

Dr. Clay has also served in positions with the staff of the Energy Subcommittee of the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Science, at the Massachusetts Division of Energy Resources, and as a research fellow in the Alternate Fuels Vehicle Division of Ford Motor Company. She holds a Ph.D. in Applied Physics and an M.S. in Electrical Engineering, both from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. She also has a B.A. in Physics and Mathematics from Kalamazoo College, Kalamazoo, MI.

She is an Adjunct Professor of Physics, at Georgetown University, Washington, D.C. and an Energy Scholar and Co-Founder of The Center for Science in the Public Interest.


  • AGL Resources
  • Alagasco
  • Atmos
  • Avista
  • CenterPoint Energy
  • DTE Energy
  • Integrys
  • Metropolitan Utilities District
  • MDU Resources Group:
  • Montana Dakota Utilities / Cascade Natural Gas / Intermountain Gas / Great Plains Company
  • National Fuel
  • National Grid
  • New Jersey Natural Gas
  • NiSource
  • ONEOK:
  • Oklahoma Gas / Kansas Gas Service / Texas Gas Service
  • Piedmont Natural Gas
  • Questar Gas
  • Sempra:
  • San Diego Gas & Electric / Southern California Gas
  • Southwest Gas
  • TECO Energy
  • UGI
  • Vectren
  • Anadarko Petroleum Corporation
  • Apache Corporation
  • BG Group
  • BHP Billiton
  • Bill Barrett Corporation
  • Cabot Oil & Gas Corporation
  • Chesapeake Energy Corporation
  • Cimarex
  • CPS Energy
  • Devon Energy
  • El Paso
  • Encana Corporation
  • Energen
  • EQT
  • High Mount Exploration & Production LLC
  • Laredo Petroleum
  • Linn Energy, LLC
  • Newfield Explorations Company
  • Noble Energy, Inc.
  • Petrohawk Energy Corporation
  • Pioneer Natural Resources
  • Plains Exploration & Production Company
  • QEP Resources
  • Quicksilver Gas Services
  • Range Resources
  • SM Energy Company
  • Southwestern Energy Company
  • Talisman Energy Inc.
  • Trans Gas Inc.
  • Ultra Petroleum Corp.
  • Williams Company
  • XTO Energy Inc.

Latest News


ANGA, AGA to Jointly Promote Natural Gas Vehicles, Infrastructure

America's Natural Gas Alliance (ANGA) and the American Gas Association (AGA) are working collaboratively to advance the development and utilization of natural gas vehicles.

Read More